V8813 – other versions & fabrics

Other bloggers’ versions of V8813

  • Thornberry: here & here (really like her gathered pockets)
  • Sew Forward  (note to self: check length before cutting & lengthen below pockets if needed)
  • Particularly like Jilly Be Joyful’s version as it looks like jacket-over-sheath, which I know is slimming.
  • Note to self: do centre front gathers pleats before assembling (see Marcy Tilton’s video at bottom)

What do you think of my 2 stashed fabrics below, the darker rayon challis for outside, the mustard handkerchief linen for that central front panel?

  • Do you think these will look and work well together?
  • Think I could use the mustard for the back’s top panel? Or make the back all black challis?

examples from bloggers of other patterns with similar potential

Designer Marcy Tilton did a video of how to sew & press the centre detail. It supposed to be teensy pleats, not gathers.

Just to clarify, here’s a video on gather from an American sewing magazine Threads’ editor.

2 thoughts on “V8813 – other versions & fabrics”

  1. This is my Minerva Blogger make for September. I haven’t looked at the instructions yet, but the gathered section seems to warrant some consideration judging by other peoples experience. I’ll wash the linen first too, as this supposed to be done in a knit fabric and I didn’t fancy that.

    Like

    1. Interesting that you’re using linen. My pattern lists “lightweight linen, lightweight crepe, lightweight knit” under fabrics. Yes, others seem to think those gathered pleats should get done first, but I haven’t read the directions yet either! Let’s see which of us gets to this first! I’m betting on you!

      Like

Comments are closed.