The Great British Sewing Bee

[BBC has removed this from YouTube]

Long time no post – my apologies! Had to prepare for my first visitor: Ms. Karen.  Yeah! She’s such a good friend, and so much fun!

I’ve become a great fan of a new programme on BBC: The Great British Sewing Bee.  If you’d like to watch the first 2 hours, you can find them above & below. There’s also a book which they mention during the program and Debi mentions in her blog post below. Happy watching and please let me know what you think!

The Great British Sewing Bee — Episode 2 on Debi’s My Happy Sewing Place blog

mystery solved

Karen also solved a major mystery: What was the sudden horrid smell in the new digs? The answer was pear trees.  Pear trees?  What pear trees?  Those lovely white things blossoming all over the village.  Seems they’re commonly called Bradford pear trees, and the smell is disagreeable to many people.

We ventured to a new-to-us fabric store.  Not too worthwhile, in our humble opinions, so we won’t mention details other than to say we felt prices were too high, and there wasn’t much variety – lots of solids, not many prints or varieties of fabric. We were a bit deflated.

But Karen did find 2 remnants, and I finally found some Burda magazines, and bought my first copy, so it wasn’t a total waste of time.  Nothing in the issue said make me!, but I wanted to see what it was all about. Several blogs I read are always doing great things from them, including Ms. Ooobop!, who does monthly reviews when her issue arrives.

Happy viewing, sewing & crafting!