during last week’s heat wave . . .

Just so’s you don’t think the urge to sew/serge has gone. . . 😱

Besides reading the Cleeves & Durrell books I also did a bit of sewing prep.

By judiciously utilizing early morning minutes before the blast furnace cut in, I managed to cut out another duster (ancient pattern copied & origin no longer remembered) plus another of my favourite summer sleep shirts (NewLook 6871, gifted by Ali).

I also managed to totally forget not to cut down the centre back.  Which will now be seamed. Ah, well . . .

I’d hacked the back a bit on the previous duster by cutting down the centre back of the pattern piece and pulling the 2 pieces apart to create a bit of a flare in the back. I really liked it, so did it again for the gauze. In the photos above that back piece is in the lower right of the photo.

The fabric is a black cotton gauze from Vogue Fabrics in Chicago, and still available. I must report it shrinks like crazy, but I think I might have washed it in hot water and machine dried it. 😳  Face of shame as I know better. Just figured if its gonna shrink, then get it over with.

Vogue has a redesigned web site.  By the way, I don’t get a thing from anyone for blogging about them ~ receiving freebies is against my policy. They’re nice people who know & love fabrics and I shopped at the Evanston & Roosevelt Road stores when I lived in South Loop.

So on to the serging (overlocking) bits… Should say I have a 3-thread BabyLock BL3-407 almost an ancient as me. This week I decided to tackle serging all the edges of both cottons before sewing. Which meant the dreaded serger rethread operation because I knew all-white thread would not do for that all-black duster. Deep sigh.

Plenty of chocolate to hand, a fan, cooler outdoor temps on Monday so I began.

rethreading

Being lazy, and hating to change thread colours, I decided to try something I’d just read over on Grainline Studio’s blog. Incidentally, they’ve also redesigned their web site.

They use neutral colours when serging (as do I) and just change the top looper thread colour. Yeah! I gave that a try on the dark gray (“ey”? never remember which is correct) and decided it was ok, but wouldn’t do for the solid black gauze.

Then I rethreaded the needle.
Which took about an hour.
Or so. . .

Am promising myself I’ll serge the duster pattern pieces today.  And if that doesn’t happen, then definitely tomorrow. . . Maybe.   Done yesterday!  😇

ps/
If you haven’t been to the post office lately, you might want to drop by and get a set of the Oscar de la Renta stamps for (U.S.) First Class mail.

 

 

 

7 thoughts on “during last week’s heat wave . . .

  1. sewchet

    Ooh, how have I had an overlocker for thirty years and not known about the upper looper thread tip?! I’ve got used to threading it, but will one day treat myself to an air-threading model. Crafting of any kind in extreme heat is impossible, isn’t it? I didn’t even bother bringing a knit/crochet project to Spain this year as you can’t work with sweaty needles:)

    Reply
  2. corrineappleby

    Well done for fitting so much in! It can’t be nice sewing in the heat (I wouldn’t know!). I’ve got quite a new overlocker and I can re-thread it in 2 minutes now. Although it isn’t working properly at the moment so maybe older ones are best after all?

    Reply
    1. CurlsnSkirls Post author

      Sorry your machine isn’t cooperating at the mo’. Couldn’t say about old vs. new overlockers. Do know that the air-threading machines sound wonderful. Wonder what a used one might cost… might look into that. If you’ve not sewn in heat, I’d love to try living over wherever you are!

      Reply
  3. tialys

    I saw that ‘upper looper’ trick too which I will try next time. I don’t ‘dread the re-thread’ as much now since I treated myself to a ‘posh’ air jet threading overlocker/serger but my old one used to drive me mad – I could easily add an hour on to any project where I needed to change the thread.

    Reply
      1. tialys

        Not as much as I should. I am only using it for the same stuff I used to use my old one for and yet I know it’s capable of so much more. I really need to sit down with the manual plus lots of YouTube videos and learn how to make the most of it.

        Reply
        1. CurlsnSkirls Post author

          I should do the same with mine, although yours does a trillion more things than mine, with only 3 threads to worry over. But as I can’t easily find nice knits over here, there’s not much incentive. (With just the 3 I can’t safely sew woven fabrics.)

          Reply

You are most welcome to leave a few words here...

