holiday hiatus

Temporarily losing the time to blog, Dear Readers, and not having much to impart as there’s not much selfish sewing going on over here. However, am keeping up with everyone else.

Meanwhile, here’s a few photos . . . but do remember that I’m across the sea about level with Gibraltar, so there’s not likely to be much snow. All these flowers were still around 10 days ago….

This year’s tree & leaf colour wasn’t much, but I did manage to get these few pictures, during a very red sunset. (Good lighting for added colour.)

at least half of these leaves are gone now, and the evergreens look bare

at least half of these leaves are gone now, and the evergreens look bare

 

can you tell how much is reflected & how much is real?

can you tell how much is reflected & how much is real?

And here’s a little puzzle for you: What’s this? A hint? I’ve been looking for it for some years, but found it after Stir Up Sunday.  😉

Stay comfy!

guess

might not look the same as what some of you are used to seeing

21 thoughts on “holiday hiatus

  1. jessthetics

    I think it looks like raindrops on a window, with some colourful flowers reflected through the other side! I hope you find some time do some sewing for yourself this season. I had lots of crafts planned for this week I’m spending at home with family, but the festivities seem to be taking up most of my time! xx

    Reply
    1. CurlsnSkirls Post author

      Thank you! What a lovely thing to see in the mixed peel. Glad you are home with family and enjoying the festivities. Yes, (grin) have been doing a teensy bit of selfish sewing. We’ll compare hols in the New Year! xx

      Reply
  2. amcclure2014

    I have a camellia in flower as I write, my first flower this season, rather early I fear, and plenty of buds. Outside. North East England. I have another camellia which is further behind.
    I like fruitcake but not marzipan.
    Merry Christmas 🌲

    Reply
    1. CurlsnSkirls Post author

      Fascinating about your camellia, Anne – thank you! Just last night watched the segment of Penelope Keith’s Hidden Villages for your beautiful area – are you in a village, too? I do love a little marzipan, if not overly sweet! Merry Christmas to you, too! 🎄

      Reply
  3. corrineappleby

    I thought it looked like haribo sweets soaked in water. When you do this they swell to three times their original size and look just like this! We did this in a biology experiment last week at college – there was a point to it! I’m with you on the pineapple front though. Bleugh!

    Reply
    1. CurlsnSkirls Post author

      Lovely One, are you feeling better? I do hope so! Sending thoughts of warming liquids & hot soups. Catered!

      Spot on with cherries, plus a bit of citrus peel & pineapple, which I always consider such a strange combination.

      Reply
  4. Thimberlina

    Lovely to see some colour out there, it’s all a bit dreary here. I’d never have guessed what it was, to me it looked like a jar of boiled sweets that had all gotten a bit soggy 😝

    Reply
    1. CurlsnSkirls Post author

      Love the idea of soggy boiled sweets! Instead of a traditional (i.e., British) mix, this has 2 colours of cherries, red & green, a bit of candied peel, and pineapple. I cannot abide that last so will attempt to identify & extract it. Wonder how much that’ll leave . . .

      Reply
  5. jendavismiller

    Camelia, yes. I don’t see them around here? They’re lovely. Thanks to Robin, I know that’s a fruitcake…my only guess might have been an unusual kaleidoscope. The fan is a lovely gift. Enjoy your “down” time!

    Reply
  6. craftycreeky

    It’s lovely to see the photos of the flowers when it’s winter over here, mind you, my camellia should be flowering in a few weeks, then it will be nearly spring… 🙂

    Reply
    1. CurlsnSkirls Post author

      Hi, Margaret – you’ve been doing lovely things over there & I’m a bit envious of your industry. My energies have to go to other things just now, as it’s end of the business year. Meh!
      Is your camellia indoors? Cannot image one surviving outside in your climate.

      Reply
    1. CurlsnSkirls Post author

      Spot on, Lovely! Not sure yet what this’ll be used for. Want to pick out the pineapple (huh??) as I don’t care for it. Then would like to do several things….

      Reply

You are most welcome to leave a few words here...

