fleece fabrics: why is there so much?

discovered in the mid 2000’s: 2 laminated layers of high-end quality (they didn’t know what they had) & as good now as then! (click to go to original post)

And why is it such poor quality??

Is it constantly canoodling in back rooms of shops?

Why entire walls of the stuff?

Is it the sport logos that fascinate?

Or the camouflage colours?

I just don’t get it.

Literally!

Now that someone’s asked me, I don’t know what to say. 😱

But I remember how many times I’ve gone into fabric stores & wondered the same thing.

Can anyone help?

12 thoughts on “fleece fabrics: why is there so much?

    1. CurlsnSkirls Post author

      Don’t know, about luck, Linda. Might suggest you order a sample card or two from Rain Shed as they’re quite inexpensive. Then you’d have something for comparisons. Do you get your fleece fabrics in person, or do you tend to order online? Unless it’s specified as Polartec®, I’d be inclined to assume it wasn’t, but that’s just me doubting.

      Reply
      1. Linda of Nice dress! Thanks, I made it!!

        I have only bought fleece in person. I rarely buy on line as I love to touch and feel the weight. I do like the sample cards you can get before you actually buy on line. I was quite happy with a fleece I made a couple of sweat shirts (hoodies) out of – those were an in person purchase. They were not Polartec (can’t find copyright symbol!) I have seen Polartec, it is quite expensive but looks like it will last for a LONG time. It was very good quality!

        Reply
        1. CurlsnSkirls Post author

          Am curious ~ where did you find Polartec®? I’ve not seen it in local stores anywhere I’ve lived. Am also curious as to your pricing vs. Rain Shed’s, which I thought were ok. (Got some on sale for $9 USD last year!)
          (Look for the symbol in your document software under its’ equivalent of Edit/SpecialCharacters/Letterlike Symbols) and it should transfer to the Edit section of your browser. Or just copy & paste mine. 😉

          Reply
          1. Linda of Nice dress! Thanks, I made it!!

            Hmm, if you have been searching recently and haven’t found it, then perhaps I am mistaken. It was a few years ago in Vancouver. I was looking for fleece and they had the xxxtec fabric for three times the price of the regular fleece. The regular fleece was fabulous, and less money so I bought it. I think even it was $10 to $15 a metre, Canadian funds. I was happy I only needed a couple of metres!

  1. jessthetics

    I actually quite like fleece, but I have a pet hatred for that thin polyester, half sheer fabric that’s used in fast fashion. There’s SO MUCH of it clogging up charity shops and second hand warehouses, but there’s nothing you can do with it because it’s too poor quality to reuse. I wish companies would stop using it but I know they won’t because it’s cheap!

    Reply
  2. myquiltprojects

    This is my opinion about fleece. This is a very inexpensive fabric to manufacture being made with the poly ester molecules, solely man made. And the textile industry does not have to rely on the cotton growing successes or failures. I loathe this stuff. Buyers buy when it is cheapest, and each year it is the winner inundating stores with its presence. And because it’s in stores, it becomes trendy. A vicious circle for us cotton lovers as it never really leaves. The good news is, it is a fad. Fads die. 🙂

    Reply
    1. CurlsnSkirls Post author

      Yes, F.A.D.s (For A Day) die, and I keep waiting !
      Thanks so much for your comments. I’m also a cotton lover, and do sorely miss any quality fabric getting to our market. Seems like the (expensive) organic cottons are mostly in a few of the fabric stores that have survived, and seem to be a specialized product. (None in my locale.) 😦

      Reply

You are most welcome to leave a few words here...

