sunday sevens #12 ~ reflections

view from the porch

view from the porch

Monday was taxes due day over here, and now that’s finished life can go on as usual. Which always seems to be unusual these days.

Shhh! I’ve been downloading & listening to podcasts from BBC4’s Women’s Hour whilst doing mechanical work. Have discovered interesting tidbits, and thought I’d share a few.

Helen Walmsley-Johnson writes about being an older woman in society. Has anyone read her book, The Invisible Woman? Am wondering if it’s worth importing across the pond.

Since I learned how badly some books are edited for American readers, I’ve tried to get original, unedited versions.

Make-up for older women was also discussed here, with how-to’s on YouTube.

Hope I’m not the only reader/sewer around that finds both subjects of interest…

 

Sunday 7's

In a valiant attempt to catch up with as many photo challenges as possible, and considering this represents a whole week of piccies, here are those challenges ~

 

14 thoughts on “sunday sevens #12 ~ reflections

  1. jendavismiller

    Wow, that porch view is beautiful, so happy and green! Good luck with MMMay. Since I’ve resolved to get back to my sewing machine, will check the rules and see if there is any way I can participate. You’ve done a great job with all those challenges! 😀

    Reply
    1. CurlsnSkirls Post author

      Thank you! Absolutely you can participate in MeMadeMay! You make up your own rules. Read through some of the comments and you’ll see lots of variety. 😉

      Reply
  2. Beads and Barnacles

    Good luck for me made may. I think I’m going to try and partake again this year.
    One way of photographing could be just on a hanger on a (picture rail/hook or on a door,) with a bit of string to hang a second trouser hanger at waist height to show the bottoms.
    Does mean you dont have to worry about taking a photo of you wearing it in good light. 🙂

    Reply
  3. sewchet

    Wow, what a view from the porch! I so wish we had porches over here. How do they edit books for the American market then? I had no idea they did. Make up for the older woman is something I should really look into as my style hasn’t changed in thirty years…..

    Reply
    1. CurlsnSkirls Post author

      How do they edit? Excellent question! Have no idea. Obviously cookery books get measurements & terms changed. In fiction, for some reason, sometimes whole pages are removed. Terms might or might not get Americanized (think trousers vs. slacks/pants, etc.) But there doesn’t seem to be much rhyme nor reason, except for cooking.
      If you look at any of the make-up videos, let us know what you think!

      Reply
    1. CurlsnSkirls Post author

      Thanks, Natalie! Have been craving Heinz for weeks, and finally found it on the top shelf whilst doing a big shop. Had the last helping tonight. At $3 a can I don’t indulge too often, but just to know now that I can get it helps!
      Don’t know what to do yet for May, but do hope to have a few more tops made before/during the month.
      Are you also participating? I’m not remembering who’s in & who’s not, as am concentrating on sewing!
      Oh, let me know if you want the extra ribbon I have (like Ali’s). Think it’s a yard…

      Reply
  4. Thimberlina

    Good luck with me made may Del! I’m sure you’ll find a way to share it with us. Love how you’ve managed to combine your photo challenges 😃

    Reply
    1. CurlsnSkirls Post author

      Thanks, Ali! Am gonna need some luck in May. Know you’ll do fine, and I’ll look forward to seeing some of these makes you’ve not had time to blog yet. 😃
      How was your sewing day today? (I think it was today…)

      Reply

You are most welcome to leave a few words here...

