sunday sevens #3

Dear Readers, hope you don’t mind my format for this.

Natalie, over at Threads and Bobbins, came up with the idea of Sunday Sevens.

Anyone can join in, and you don’t have to do a post every Sunday. How easy can that be!

(click document to view it larger, links are below)

The Rain Shed, Oregon, Threads magazine

Sunday 7's

If you’d like to play around with your Sunday Sevens as I do, here’s how I do it on a Mac:

  • Using Pages, I put all the photos on my page as I’m typing, making certain they’re all marked as Floating.
  • Lots of resizing is needed the first time round, so don’t panic when half your photo goes off the page. Just pull the size in until it’s all there.
  • Then I can move them around until the text and photos are as I’d like them on the page.
  • I can easily play with font sizes and picture sizes for additional control over the entire page.
  • Then I Print to PDF File (look at the bottom left corner of your Print pop-up window for the PDF button; click and you’ll see the File option), which I put on my Desktop (for convenience only; you can put yours anywhere you like).
  • Remember that once you’ve switched your Pages document into a PDF document, you still need to shift it into a JPG file to easily load it into WordPress. And any changes you decide to make must be made in Pages, and your PDF reprinted to file again!

Preview is what opens my PDF files on my Mac so these steps are for Preview:

  • Open your PDF file
  • Go up to the File tab and select Export.
  • In that pop-up window look at the bottom third and locate “Format.” Click the option for JPEG (same as JPG), select where you want that file to reside (I use Desktop), and click Enter.
  • Now you’ve got what you need for WordPress and the rest is easy peasy!
  • Treat your completed JPG file just as you treat any picture you’ve uploaded into a post.

This might initially sound like a lot of steps, but it’s like driving to a new destination. The first couple of times you do it, it seems to take for-eeeever. Soon it becomes automatic, and very quick.

Good luck, and let me know if you’ve got questions! (My apologies, PC folk, but you’re on your own here as I haven’t used a PC in almost a decade. However, as a guess, I’d suggest you use either Word or Publisher to make your document and convert it to PDF, then try converting with Acrobat.)

10 thoughts on “sunday sevens #3

  1. Thimberlina

    Morning! Just playing catch up! I’m ok with iMovie as it makes me look cleverer than I am at creating videos! Can’t believe you’re making the chocolate last. Greedy guts here wouldn’t be able to do that! 😃

    Reply
  2. Natalie

    I’ll have to check iMovie out yet…I’m intrigued now as to how it’s changed! Your lunch pics look delicious – aren’t sweet potatoes yummy?!

    Reply
    1. CurlsnSkirls Post author

      Thank you, yes they are yummy! Let me know what you think about the latest iMovie… Although I didn’t do much with it, I did manage quite easily to put a 2 minute short together. Now it looks too involved for my purposes… ho, hum.

      Reply
  3. robynsewsthisandthat

    T recently heard that there are two Hancock Fabrics stores closing here in Central Va. Any word about your store closing? Just curious. Thanks for the info for your page layout. I am currently using a pic at home. I am interested in the idea of how to accomplish other layouts. I shall have to play around a bit.

    Reply
    1. CurlsnSkirls Post author

      Hadn’t heard that, but Karen did say they’d declared their 2nd bankruptcy about 10 days ago. The fabric selection here sure wasn’t good and just about everything had large price reductions.
      About that formatting, Robyn… if you’ve got questions, give me a call or email and I’ll be glad to help if I can.

      Reply

You are most welcome to leave a few words here...

