optimistic sewing plans

Finally have time to get these new additions blogged!

😉

(click any pic to go to larger views & captions)

This week’s topic over at the WordPress photo got got me thinking.

Aren’t we sewers optimistic folk?

After all, we spot a fabric or a pattern and know or think or hope it’ll be exactly what we’re looking for once it’s made up. 😍

And sooner or later we get out the fabric and pattern, and start cutting and sewing. ✂️

Sometimes we’re successful. 😊

Sometimes maybe not. 😳

But rarely does that stop us permanently. 😱

There’s something about the process of doing creative things that draws us back.

What keeps you optimistic, Lovely Readers?

25 thoughts on “optimistic sewing plans

  1. sewchet

    I’m definitely an optimist – who else would think it was even possible to make a ball gown in two days!! Seriously though, I think being optimistic makes you a happier person all round. Imagine how miserable it would be to think the worst in every situation? That dress pattern would be perfect in linen……

    Reply
    1. CurlsnSkirls Post author

      Brava! Have been known to attempt similar projects, now I think abut it.
      Linen… of course you’re right, and that shorter version reminds me of one of your makes from last summer. 😉

      Reply
  2. jessthetics

    Isn’t that the great thing about making things though, all the possibilities? I think a big part of being creative is having these visions in your head and the difficult part is trying to realise them. The process is always valuable even if you don’t end up with what you intended. I think that desire to realise the beautiful things in our head in real life is what keeps us going, and I love that optimism! xx

    Reply
    1. CurlsnSkirls Post author

      Jess, couldn’t agree with you more! The “desire to realise the beautiful things” is so important, isn’t it? Beauty in everyday life. A limitless concept!

      Reply
  3. jendavismiller

    What an interesting question! I am an incurable optimist…..when it comes to anyone else. When it regards myself I’m much more hesitant (isn’t that so silly). However, every little success helps, doesn’t it, and today I made a new muslin in an afternoon, it fits (almost), it will fit my fabric, and I’m quite jazzed about it all!
    Love that gold fabric, and especially like the Butterick pattern. Looks very comfy.

    Reply
    1. CurlsnSkirls Post author

      Congratulations on your successful muslin! Don’t think it’s silly to be more optimistic for others. Find myself doing the same thing. Example: Am hoping the Butterick doesn’t overwhelm or look frumpy. Nice thing is fitting shouldn’t be much of an issue. Thank you!

      Reply
  4. Thimberlina

    I’m just an eternal optimist in everything, not just sewing, the glass is always half full! Mostly! I think the gold would make a gorgeous Oslo cardigan. It reminds me of mine and I wear it loads 😀

    Reply
    1. CurlsnSkirls Post author

      Ooo, thank you for that suggestion! Looked it up and I don’t have enough fabric for it, nor for the Style Arc Laura cardi, which I do have (have all 3 Laura’s… could do the dress, but don’t fancy one in this practically see-through knit. 😱 Maybe 20 years ago…)
      This is the Laura Trio of patterns: (http://www.stylearc.com.au/stylearc/index.php?page=shop.product_details&flypage=flypage.tpl&product_id=266&category_id=2&keyword=Laura&option=com_virtuemart&Itemid=42). Will think on it a bit more and put away the cutting shears for the moment. ✂️ ✂️

      Reply
  5. Su Leslie

    You are exactly right! I passed a fabric shop the other day (realising that once upon a time I could never have PASSED a fabric shop), got all excited about sewing something, remembered the last few things I made turned out pretty terrible, suppressed that thought and decided to go in tomorrow and look for fabric and a pattern for a summer dress. Optimism! Cheers, Su.

    Reply
    1. CurlsnSkirls Post author

      Hurray ~ give it another go! As with any skill, we have to keep practicing, and not let the learning experiences stop us. 😉 Pause for a bit of analytical thought, perhaps, so as not to have to learn the lesson again, but steam right on.
      (now all i have to do is take me own advice, she types ruefully 😀)

      Reply
      1. Su Leslie

        Thanks. I used to sew a lot, but got out of the habit when I no longer had a) a good sewing machine and b) a place to work. I’ve sorted number 1; now I just have to work on #2.

        Reply
        1. CurlsnSkirls Post author

          Aye, that can be a problem. Have you any table space at all? If not, perhaps a small folding table could do for now… Wishing you best of luck! 😀

          Reply
          1. Su Leslie

            I tend to use the dining table, but by the time I’ve set everything up, done a bit of cutting and sewing, it’s time to pack it all away again. We’re hoping to move soon and ultimately build a house in the country. The goal is to have a big studio space where I can sew, paint, do craft, etc. And hopefully big enough for artist friends to run workshops that I’ll facilitate, cater and provide accommodation for. Five year plan! Hopefully I’ll get SOME sewing done before then. 🙂

          2. Su Leslie

            Thanks. I’m using up my creative energy at the moment trying to become a better photographer and photo editor. I’ve no doubt there will be lots of sewing to do when we get a new place — even if it is just curtains and cushions at first. 🙂

          3. CurlsnSkirls Post author

            You’ll get your sewing groove going again with them! Am doing my fair share of these things just now, too, and a new cushion or curtains really lift my creative energies every time I see the finished item.

You are most welcome to leave a few words here...

