when nature runs amuck…

snow in chicagoDire weather is forecast for the U.S. East Coast – frozen variations on the recent U.K. floods.

Whilst washing & coring apples, hard-boiling eggs, and in general preparing for some meals without the aid of heat, I wondered what you lovely readers keep in your own pantries for such occasions.

It would be lovely if I had a fire-pit, or a fireplace, but I don’t. And, alas, I don’t can my own anything.

I do have a manual can opener and cans of cooked chicken, beans, and a few other items.

Now that I think about it, a good beef pastie might be just the thing for such occasions. But right now, I’ll be pleased if I’ve the energy to make up a small batch of scones. 😀

What do you have for such occasions?

PS/ If you don’t hear from me for a few days, you’ll know why.  😉

6 thoughts on “when nature runs amuck…

  1. jessthetics

    I hope you didn’t get snowed in too much! The weather here is never too extreme (and the snow doesn’t settle in the city) so I’m always jealous of snowstorms. They look so eciting. I don’t have any emergency food stocks, but if I had to prepare for a storm I would probably buy cans of chickpeas, beans and veggies xx

    Reply
    1. CurlsnSkirls Post author

      Would you believe that’s exactly what I’ve got several cans of? In addition to milk & chicken. And water! Our barely 2 inches didn’t cut anything off, but the ice resulting from melt & re-freezing has kept schools closed. That and the real out in the country counties just aren’t plowed yet, and got more snow & sleet. Tomorrow we should be good to go around here. Thanks for your reply!

      Reply
  2. sewchet

    We’re fortunate enough never to be in that situation so I can’t really help! We can always get to the shops within a couple of days and can always get by in the meantime.

    Reply
    1. CurlsnSkirls Post author

      You’re very fortunate – may your pantry never run dry! You’re a veg garden grower & preserver, and that’s a great way to be prepared for emergencies. And that’s meant as a great compliment!

      Reply

You are most welcome to leave a few words here...

