q & a: circle skirts

front of hatI’ve met another sewer today, and she’s local.  Happy New Year !

We started out with my hat – remember the green fleece? Yep. I’m still wearing it. Nothing keeps me warmer! The pattern is Folkwear’s Metropolitan Hat #269.

I’m dedicating this post to you, Ms. V, in answer to your questions (and a couple of my own).

And I’m asking you, Lovely Readers, to help us out by sharing your experiences with circle skirts. Here are a couple of questions ~

  • Why do we have to divide by Pi (6.28 in inches try 3.14 instead ~ 😳 embarrassed face) in that formula to get waist measurement?
  • Why doesn’t anyone mention hanging the skirt before hemming it to allow the bias portions of the skirt to stretch out so they can be trimmed before hemming?

I don’t think I’ve ever made a circle skirt. But I’ve planned one and never got to it, partly because of these questions.

Here are three of the things I kept for future reference: Dana Made It, Me Sew Crazy, and Mood Fabrics in NYC/LA.

Your turn, Dear Readers!

Please add to my list, either with your own experiences, or a fav tutorial you’ve used.

😘

Thank you in advance!

 

And since the WordPress Photo Challenge is a “perfect fit” this week, it’s included.

27 thoughts on “q & a: circle skirts

  1. jendavismiller

    Oh, I love that hat! I’ve never made a circle skirt, but I had one when I was a child. It was white, quilted velvet and one of my most favorite garments ever.

    Reply
    1. CurlsnSkirls Post author

      Thank you kindly! Quilted velvet sounds yummy! Do you remember if it was purchased, or if someone made it for you? You might not remember. The concept just sounds so wonderful & original.

      Reply
      1. jendavismiller

        Oh goodness, my mother and grandmother were avid seamstresses, but I believe the skirt was purchased. I know there is a picture of it somewhere…I felt so grown up in it!

        Reply
  2. Thimberlina

    Cool hat! I don’t remember it, but maybe it was before we met, so to speak! I’ve used BHL too when I made Lucy a half circle skirt, and me my 1950s outfit. Saved getting brain ache with the maths! 😀

    Reply
    1. CurlsnSkirls Post author

      Thanks! About your skirts – what fabrics did you use & did you have probs with keeping the proper shape? Or did you get bias droop? (Know what I mean? The circle becomes more of an oval & opposite sides droop.)

      Reply
      1. Thimberlina

        They were OK, Lucy’s was a plaid wool and mine was an old cotton sheet. Neither suffered droopiness, but mine was only worn the once. Lucy’s was quite short so not much weight to it. X

        Reply
          1. Thimberlina

            Haha, can’t must any enthusiasm for golf today, it’s 8:18am, damp and soggy out, I’m still in bed but am getting up shortly for a run and hopefully have a productive day, including taking the trimmings down 🌲

          2. CurlsnSkirls Post author

            You been soggy all day there? We’re bright over here – ☀️☀️☀️ store these for tomorrow as it’s about sunset your time.

          3. Thimberlina

            It’s dark about 4pm, we’ve not long had the shortest day so might start noticing a different in the next couple of weeks. Foggy and soggy! Hopefully your sunshiny me you be sent might show its face tomorrow 🌞

    1. CurlsnSkirls Post author

      Love that the BHL app gives you options of how full to make the skirt, and tells you if it’ll fit on 45″ or 60″ yardage. Also reeeally like the thought from Katie about using a facing for that circle hem. Much neater, me thinks!

      Reply
    1. CurlsnSkirls Post author

      Thank you, Robyn! I’d forgotten about the Cake pattern. You got the right word when you wrote “flow.” That’s what fascinates me, too, and makes me want to discover if it’ll still flow over these nether portions. Lol!

      Reply
      1. neela

        If you do a search on Google images there are lots of diagrams on how to draw up a circle skirt and it’s quite easy to draft one up. However once you’ve stitched it and let if hang for a while, the biggest pain is truing up and hemming it. Lots of patience is required and not for the faint hearted!

        Reply
        1. CurlsnSkirls Post author

          Nee! A huge thank you for mentioning this part, as it’s been my biggest hang-up. No pun intended. Do you think the hemming part would be solved by using a facing, or would that also have bias problems? Come to think of it, I probably did attempt a circle skirt at some point, but these problems turned it into a wadder… as in wadded up and tossed out.

          Reply

You are most welcome to leave a few words here...

