quick question, lovely sewers!

Please take a look at these piccies and tell me if I’m daft… thank you!Β  πŸ’•πŸ’•

Edited on 10 Sep to add: This is a silk digital print & correspondingly slippery!

overlapping

Would like to use as much of this border print as I can

 

 

 

See those 2 lines across the sleeves of both front & back in the second photo?

See those 2 lines across the sleeves of both front & back?

D'you think I could use those as cut lines, and piece that un-used section from th border in between the front & back pieces???

D’you think I could use those as cut lines, and piece this un-used section of the border???

 

14 thoughts on “quick question, lovely sewers!

  1. Tereza

    Oh this is going to be lovely! I like the idea of using that border as much as possible. I like the idea of tracing it first before cutting. Have you muslined?

    Reply
    1. CurlsnSkirls Post author

      No, I haven’t muslined, but am thinking about doing one before cutting this silk. Taking pictures of the whole fabric has given me some ideas… more next week. πŸ˜‰

      Reply
  2. leannenz

    I am not a sewing person (lol I put sewer to start with and that looked so wrong!) but I love textiles and I love that fabric. It almost looks Japanese.

    Reply
    1. CurlsnSkirls Post author

      Thank you! You’re not too far away geographically from this fabric’s origin, which I’ll put up on Monday. It was purchased by a dear friend at one of her favourite vendors in Walthamstow, England, then sent across the pond to me as a gift. Glad you like it! del
      (Yes, you would have been correct to use “sewer”!)

      Reply
  3. jay

    Would you trace off the sections and see how it would work before cutting? Nice print btw, I can see whay you want to make the most of it.

    Reply
    1. CurlsnSkirls Post author

      Hi, Jay – thanks for your comments! Not sure I’d be so formal as to trace anything… was thinking more of just eye-balling it, as the fit’s loose.

      Reply
  4. annieloveslinen

    It looks like it could work, I’m assuming the flower is repeated on the side we can’t see but even if it isn’t you could work the border on one side, keeping the other plain. I wouldn’t worry much about which way up you position the border either as it will look pretty abstract when finished. If it’s a knit you won’t need to fuss about grain, if not you’d just have to take a bit of care to cut it on the straight grain.

    Good luck!

    Reply
    1. CurlsnSkirls Post author

      Great comments, Annie – THANK You! Should have written clearly this is a silk digital print, and it does continue all the way round the bottom. It’s the dickens to control, so will probably cut pieces separately, using the tissue paper trick in between… or might just cut pieces singly, starting with the back, carefully placing “on the fold” but laying it out flat to double-check the print. Hope that makes sense!

      Reply

You are most welcome to leave a few words here...

