tis the season: ginger + peaches

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Thought I might share this quicky recipe to jazz up peaches, even when it’s not been a great harvest.

Either stove top (as I did) or microwave (use glass or plastic)

I’ve done this with unripe peaches, mushy peaches (cut off the bad spots), wrinkled peaches (i.e., getting dried out)

  • Slice your peaches as you choose
  • Put in a bowl or pan, depending on where you’re cooking them
  • Add ginger (I used powdered, but freshly grated or candied would also work) to taste
  • I don’t add sugar, as a rule, but you add it you like it

For stove top method, add a bit of water so peaches don’t stick
Let the peaches cook & the water mostly boil away, until there’s thick syrup left

Either eat right away, or…
Allow to cool before placing in storage container & refrigerating

You’re done!

This can also be used as the filling for a pie or with a cobbler topping, but you still need to pre-cook the peach mixture.  You’re on your own for those recipes, as I don’t care for crusts.

7 thoughts on “tis the season: ginger + peaches

    1. CurlsnSkirls Post author

      Just read your all-too-brief account of your ramble of yesterday, Lovely One.
      FABulus ! ! ! Golly, wish I’d been there with you all. . . with me little cart.
      🙂 All the better to shop with!
      xxxxxxx to you all!

      Reply
    1. CurlsnSkirls Post author

      Yes, I’d use honey if I sweetened with anything! (Don’t care for cane sugary taste in anything.) Taste your peaches and decide what you like, especially if your peaches aren’t ripe. Add a little at a time. You can always add more. It’s getting rid of too much that’s problematic.
      Enjoy!
      del

      Reply
      1. Ema Jones

        Sure, I’m using honey and will add according to the sweetness of the peaches. I will add less if peaches are rich and ripe 🙂

        Reply

You are most welcome to leave a few words here...

