pattern details

terrible shade to try to get right on-screen! and not my fav colour, either!  what to dooooo...

terrible shade to try to get right on-screen! and not my fav colour, either! what to dooooo…

Here’s that cotton jersey mentioned earlier in the week in some comments – the one with the “tinternet” colour problem!  It’s a lovely soft fabric, but I don’t care for the colour.  So am thinking a skirt, with a blouse of something mustardy that matches that part of the tiny figure, which is kinda cute.

Or maybe the Style Arc dress pattern (below) with mustard top & sleeves, and the purpley fabric as the body of the dress?  Brooke, dear person & manager of The Fabric Store-LA, has pulled together some samples, including some mustards.  Can’t wait for them to arrive!

What do you all think about a not-my-colour fabric, Lovely & Experienced Readers?  Ever had a similar quandary?  What did you do?!

Thinking Winter wardrobe, I acquired these patterns from Style Arc, in Melbourne – city of Phryne Fisher/Corinna Chapman & their author Kerry Greenwood.  I do love my 2 long skirts from last Winter, but need a few more pieces, and am hoping to add greens, which are sparse. Ummm…

Watched an old Avengers on a retro telly station, and couldn’t believe what I saw – Emma Peel, wearing a mid-thigh woven variation of Papercut‘s Circle Top!  Hers was more a cape that closed diagonally off-centre, with the volume belted/buttoned front & back, so she could do some judo without the back swinging round to meet her when she twirled.  Will feel quite retro this Winter whilst wearing a jersey version… if only I had her figure!    🙂

12 thoughts on “pattern details

  1. thevintagetraveler

    I really have a hard time with fabrics in colors I don’t care about. I’ve left behind many, many yards of wonderful stuff because of color. But since you already have it, I’d go with a skirt.

    Reply
  2. oursewingpatch

    YES too many times the much awaited fabric has arrived and not been as I had expected. Not as brave as thee, mine hits the bottom of the stash drawer awaiting divine intervention 🙂 x

    Reply
          1. jessthetics

            I’ve looked everywhere and I’ve waited for it to come through, and I still can’t find it! So sorry, I’m sure I’m doing something stupid. How about you give me your email, I’ll message you and you can reply to that? xx

You are most welcome to leave a few words here...

