prepping the pile, pegging out, & other necessities

We all know that before actual sewing can begin the fabric has to be pre-washed & maybe ironed. When I know there’s fabric coming I generally schedule laundry time immediately after delivery & un-boxing, but this stack has taken some time to complete.

The weekend’s already got normal laundry scheduled, and that needed to go first.  But as of today I’ve only 2 linen pieces to go (the bottom of the pile), then I’m done.  Phew!

Simultaneous with ordering the fabrics from The Fabric Store, I ordered 2 Papercut patterns (Circle Top & pneuma tank) I thought would work for transitional & winter styles.  Many thanks to Kat at Modern Vintage Cupcakes for blogging her makes of these patterns here & here. And to Nikki because that last was a twinsie shot!

Included with my fabrics was a cute little booklet with washing directions for all their fabrics.  I kept seeing “Hang in the shade.” That reminds me. . .

Most of the world doesn’t have or often use electric dryers.  Ali at Timberlina just did a cute post that includes a piccie of her pegging out in her new play suit (because they say clothes pegs when we say clothes pins?).  Whereas in the U.S. it’s illegal in many communities to have an outdoor line for hanging clothes, the rest of the world thrives with ‘em.

My place is so tiny there’s not much space for my version of pegging out “in or out of the shade!”  Besides hanging long pieces of fabric over the shower rail, I’ve been known to use hangers, but I ran outta places to hang things this weekend and had to quit!

4 thoughts on “prepping the pile, pegging out, & other necessities

  1. Anne W

    Wow, those are some nice fabrics, love the blue & grey(?) circle print. I can’t believe it’s actually illegal to have washing hanging outside in the US… Sounds mad to me! 🙂 Looking forward to seing what gets made from all that luciousness.

    Reply
    1. CurlsnSkirls Post author

      Not forbidden everywhere, but many towns & cities will issue a ticket or a fine.
      Definitely difficult to believe, but unfortunately true!
      Having a lot of fun thinking about how to make up some of these… others I’ve looked at and just know what to do.
      Know what I mean?!
      Have been enjoying all your creations this summer – awesome!
      xx

      Reply

You are most welcome to leave a few words here...

