great british sewing bee – sunday special!

"The Great British Sewing Bee returns for a Christmas reunion with judges, Savile Row's Patrick Grant and sewing teacher, May Martin, and this year's semi-finalists; Stuart, Sandra, Lauren and 82-year-old winner Ann."  Sunday 15 December   7.40-8.40pm   BBC TWO

“The Great British Sewing Bee returns for a Christmas reunion with judges, Savile Row’s Patrick Grant and sewing teacher, May Martin, and this year’s semi-finalists; Stuart, Sandra, Lauren and 82-year-old winner Ann.” Sunday 15 December 7.40-8.40pm BBC TWO

They’re doing projects ~ Christmas table linen, fabric doll’s house, tweed satchel, a gardening belt, a teddy bear ~ and sharing some of their family holiday traditions.

HUGE thank you to Did You Make That for posting today.  Am keeping my fingers crossed that someone posts it [the programme].  Failing that, might immigrate!

Now, what else can I talk about having done this week…

stashed velour finally being used?  hope so!

velour – with subtle sparkle knitted in

corner of cushy & warm blankey

corner of cushy & warm blankey

Consulted with Samantha (Sewinloveuk) about the velour cowl top I’m hoping to get done for The Monthly Stitch’s December challenge, Party!, and discussed possible skirt fabrics to match.

Some PJ bottoms are moving closer to the top of the sewing list, more in a bit…  Re-sized a blanket just in time for this week’s chill-down…  Continued to resist purchasing fabric instead of going to the stash, and that’s the most difficult of all!

7 thoughts on “great british sewing bee – sunday special!

  1. cathynd95

    Proud of you going to the stash instead of the store! Christmas gifts from me this year is PJ bottoms for adults and complete PJs for the kids. Total of 26, not to mention some baby thongs for 4 newborns in my family this year. I have been having a hard time staying away from the store and using what I have instead. You give me motivation to use my stash!

    Reply
    1. CurlsnSkirls Post author

      Thanks, Cathy! Am glad I’m not the only one concentrating on stash-busting.
      What’s been your preferred PJ bottom pattern? I’ve got a couple, currently at the bottom of a pile of patterns, and at least 1 is retro. Will dig out today ~ you’ve given me impetus to get on with that project!
      del

      Reply
      1. cathynd95

        Currently using simplicity 3925. The pkg has both child and adult sizes. I got a large roll of tracing paper and have traced the different sizes for all the kids. Adults I have used 3 different patterns. I will have to check their MFG and #s for you

        Reply
        1. CurlsnSkirls Post author

          Thanks, Cathy! I dug mine out and have Butterick 5432 (used for a dress last summer) and Very Easy Vogue 8560 (from 1970s). Haven’t used either pant before.
          WOW! You’re really into production mode with yours. Am greatly impressed, and thank you for taking time out to reply. Don’t worry if you don’t get to it right away. My flannels are for me, whenever I get to them!
          del
          PS/ added links to pattern piccies

          Reply
          1. cathynd95

            The butterick one is the one I used for the women’s pj pants. They turned out.really nice. Butterick 5153 I used for men’s pj pants

          2. CurlsnSkirls Post author

            Am sooo grateful for your comments, Cathy! Have been very leery of using the Butterick, and for no apparent reason. Might get a pair done before the 25th! Hopeyou’re getting on with your holiday projects – Happy Christmas to you! del

You are most welcome to leave a few words here...

