a 1994 cotton

see what I mean about the busy pattern

see what I mean about the busy pattern

Amongst my collection of table coverings is this, purchased in California.  On the border is printed, “tiny bethlehem” phillip & nicole de leon for ALEXANDER HENRY FABRICS © 1994

this little camel measures about ??? x ???

this little camel measures about 3″ wide x 2.75 inches tall

Does that qualify as retro? Vintage?

l’ve always loved the colours, but didn’t care for the pattern.  Too busy.  But the colours always won out.

With moving and downsizing so drastically, it was moved to my recycle-or-toss box.  Last weekend I finally had an idea, and Saturday night, with library DVDs for company, I started cutting.

When I quit for the night I had almost 100 little portraits cut out, of 8 different characters in the design.  This little camel is just one.  I have an idea for something, and it’s not a quilt!  Meanwhile, am hoping to get a mock-up made, after a trip to the fabric store for a few supplies.

Shhhh!   😉

4 thoughts on “a 1994 cotton

  1. A Fine Hand

    I am most intrigued! The same thing happens to me when I fall for a fabric and then can’t figure a good use for it, although I might have used this one for a holiday table square also.

    Reply
    1. CurlsnSkirls Post author

      Cindi, that’s exactly what I did for this fabric 19 years ago. How clever you are to understand! It was 44″ wide, so 1.25 yds made my square. On my teensy round table it’s a cloth. On a larger table it’s a topper.

      Depends on the pattern & fabric, I might also do a dress. Then, I sometimes seam the raw edges together, put a casing round one selvage edge, and insert elastic for instant long skirt or summer dress. Do you do the same?

      As for your question about adding urls into your 24 Sept photo group, only thing I could think of was to add the urls as captions. Many times I’d also like to add a link between the photos in a group and their urls, but thus far I guess WordPress doesn’t have the coding worked out.

      Hope that helps. 😉
      del

      Reply

You are most welcome to leave a few words here...

