the summer print sheath puzzle

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Last night the quandary over why I couldn’t cut into the orangey rayon was solved – yeah!  And the weather’s turned hot & humid again, so the pattern has been cut out of a Hawaiian print added to The Stash last December.  Might finish it before the night is out.  I’ve a plan for the peachy rayon, too, but wanted that sheath first.

The mystery was solved when I realized the pattern’s style is informal.  Recommended fabrics include seersucker & chambray, and they’re definitely more sporty and informal types of fabric.  I wouldn’t describe the rayon as sporty, and that was the difficulty.

Those front pleats are a bit of a mystery I need to look up on-line.  The pattern says to baste them, but never says to take out the stitches.  Looking at the photos, I can’t tell if they’ve left the pleats sewn down, or not.  Maybe I’ll flip a coin, but most probably I’ll check the fit.  If it goes on & comes off easily with the pleats sewn down, I’ll leave them!

Didn’t have quite enough fabric to do the 2-piece self-lined bodice, so will use bias binding. Sew up the sides, and it’s done!

puzzle

Amongst the photos above I’ve included a picture that’s not quite right. See if you can figure out what’s wrong!

Think I’ve been watching too many Masterpiece Mysteries lately?  🙂

8 thoughts on “the summer print sheath puzzle

  1. oursewingpatch

    OK I’m going to have a punt at it D’el even though my brain moves too slowly for your fantastically professional slideshow.

    I believe your pleats are pinned in the ‘wrong’ direction, looking at the pattern looks as though they should be folded in opposite direction. EG left to right rather than right to left? xx

    Reply
    1. CurlsnSkirls Post author

      Click any photo and you should be able to control the photo flow.
      I should include that on each slide show, but I forget. I’m sorry. 😦

      Sooooo close I’m gonna give it to you & go write the answer, with photo.
      xxx
      del

      Reply
  2. eumoronorio

    I like that pattern and print. It should make a great summer dress. As for the puzzle, I think its the dart/pleat details before the pocket photo. PS did it arrive yet??

    Reply
    1. CurlsnSkirls Post author

      Thank you for approving!
      Your answer’s quite close, working around the dart area…
      Have another think! 😉
      del

      PD/Nothing arrived yet….

      Reply

You are most welcome to leave a few words here...

