gathered instrument skirt

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Have been drooling over this rayon remnant since adding it to stash well over a year ago. Finally decided to sit down and just sew it up this past weekend, and give myself a treat.

The piccies should show how it was done – a simple gathered skirt with a slight change, because the fabric has such an attractive-to-me selvage.

I must add a bit about the flexible bodkin I’ve owned for donkey’s years.  It made inserting elastic a breeze – I spent more time making photos than inserting the elastic. A quick internet search shows an updated form available at various sewing places. Search for ‘flexible bodkin.’

I decided to sew the one side seam to the outside, and realized when I started sewing the casing for the elastic that I couldn’t leave the side seam flapping around loose. So I sewed it down flat, which made completing the casing easy-peasy.

To make the casing I folded the top of the skirt down about 1 inch and sewed all round, leaving about an inch not sewn. That’s where I inserted the 1/4 inch elastic. If you don’t leave that opening, which can be sewn closed after elastic’s inserted, how are you going to get that elastic inside?!

Being truly lazy, I also decided I liked the wee fringe at the bottom of the skirt, and made a narrow zigzag around to secure thread from raveling.  That was the “hem.” Then I threw it in the wash* and waited to see if the hem raveled.  It did.  I may go back and do a rolled hem edge with the serger, and cut off the little fringe. We’ll see.

😉

* note I ALWAYS prewash fabric; if it goes into stash it’s liable to get looked at, laid out & looked at, and washed several more times before finally getting sewn

2 thoughts on “gathered instrument skirt

You are most welcome to leave a few words here...

