curtains

Today I finally buckled down and sewed up a pair of curtains that the large lounge window’s been needing. I cheated. I only used lining fabric.  Since I know I’ll not be here long, am sticking with what I brought from my previous windows. It’s all the same blackout fabric.

What’s that, you ask? Ah-ha!  Blackout fabric is a way to keep 100% of the light out of a room, and insulate from temperature and noise in the bargain. And it is white (but I’ve seen cream, too).

These days we need all the insulation we can get!

There are a few things to remember when working with this fabric.  As you can see at the top, once you’ve made a seam, it stays because the fabric is punctured. If you’re using this as lining, that might not be a big deal. It isn’t for me just now. On the other hand, it you’re looking for a different effect, this could be terrific!

Another thing you don’t have to worry about is fraying. Although I did use pinking shears, it was only because I felt like it.  🙂 As you see, I also did a teeny tiny shirttail hem.  Made me feel better before I slapped them up on the windows.

This is a heavy fabric. I used a denim needle and lengthened my stitch 1 mm or so, with regular poly thread, which I’ve always used.

Most home dec fabric shops should have this, which runs about $8 a yard, USD, at 54″ wide. I’ve always washed it in cold water & dried in low heat. After a few years, it may start slight fraying on the selveges, and the lining may start to crack, but it’s minor.  And besides, nothing lasts forever.

Except this heat wave.

You are most welcome to leave a few words here...

