burda challenge completed!

completed blouse
completed blouse
IMG_3698
will definitely wear casually!

Making this 4-piece Burda pattern has been interesting.  It’s the first time I remember making a sample using an old sheet – always wanted to use an old sheet!

That gave me a healthy sense of freedom, knowing I wasn’t working on expensive fabric, or having to come up with a usable piece of clothing. Should I do some piping? Maybe add lace to the sleeve or hem?  Finally, I decided to add another set of tucks at the neckline, and do a seam up the back, using a button closure.

However, in this case I eventually felt the sheet had a little too much body for the style. I should have used a single knit – like the lovely bamboo jersey I originally planned for this project.  But as the overall style isn’t particularly flattering, I’m glad I stuck with the sheet!

Veddy veddy interesting to finally work on a Burda pattern, and I’m grateful I kept at it and completed this challenge!

burda-sew-along