learning to speak burda

Finally got blackout curtains up, in my attempt to combat the high heat & humidity pouring thru woefully inadequate single-glazed windows far too early in the season.  That’s a subject for another post… blackout fabric, that is.

Finally time for Burda!  Over lunch – one needs sustenance when tackling A Major Project.  It was that time anyway. A reread of the vitals confirmed my pattern pieces would be in green, so a salad would coordinate nicely. Might keep me on track instead of wandering into the kitchen to look for a snack instead of sticking to it. (It worked.)

Would you believe it took me several days to figure out what to outline with?  I don’t have soft-leaded pencils, except for smeary charcoal, and didn’t want to use highlighters because they bleed straight through the paper.  I know because I tested.   And just in case I actually succeed and want to use more of the patterns, I didn’t want to muck up the other side, with all those other pieces I might want someday!

Then I remembered I’d had coloured pencils, which I might not have tossed before moving, and went in search… sure enough. Even had green.

Did you do those follow-the-dot drawings when you were little?  I did, and loved ‘em.  Burda’s the same thing, but for grown-ups.  Once I stopped trying to do itty-bitty sections at a time, leaning on a book, and cleared my sewing table for a firm surface, things went quickly.  Must say Mel’s post & video was great prep… and I’m dying to get to a hardware store so I can buy some huge nuts just like she uses for pattern weights.

I am still very much a beginner, so I took the time and did  some extra steps not included in Mel’s super-duper lickety-split video. Example: Decided to outline all the sizes, as I always have to do some adjusting, and it’s easier to see the pieces.

Thus endeth today’s report.

You are most welcome to leave a few words here...

