living & learning with butterick 4347

Butterick 4347 Fast & East Classics

Butterick 4347 Fast & East Classics

Have had this pattern since 1996 – Yikes!  And forgot to say anything about it’s being completed until lovely Josée’s comment reminded me. Thank you, Dear Reader!  (Do visit her delightful site!)

It’s a reliable go-to when I want something relatively easy (read mindless).  This time the medium weight of the stretch cotton fabric dictated a few changes.

Summer skirt's so-so zip

Summer skirt’s so-so zip

Choosing style A (4th from left), I kept the elastic waist, but did lots of fitting. That made a zip necessary, but as it got rid of bulk at the top (where it was sorely needed) I gritted me teeth and managed a somewhat passable job. Then added a bar-style hook at very top.

Not my greatest effort by a long chalk, but with that busy & bright pattern I decided not to worry.  Wish I’d taken time to add a pocket, too, but…

Summer Skirt completed (Butterick 4347)

Summer Skirt completed

Sometimes you just gotta get over it & get on with it!

9 thoughts on “living & learning with butterick 4347

      1. Cul de Sac

        don’t forget to post pictures, I wanna see what you will come with… What I like with pockets is you can trim them like crazy (with rickrack, laces, coordinating fabrics…) and they look awesome!

        Reply
          1. Cul de Sac

            I can’t comment on my post since it’s a give away but i put the link where you can purchase the pattern! Michellepatterns.com

          2. CurlsnSkirls Post author

            Yum! Will check out tomorrow, after chores. Thank you!
            (Already looked at pocket tutorial and now have 2 skirts in the que – you’re too much, Lovely!)

  1. cyclingrandma

    I have to make more aprons for the grandkids- that and dreaded mending, are the extent of my sewing– but I still love looking at patterns and fabric.

    Reply
    1. CurlsnSkirls Post author

      I feel your frustration! “Dreaded mending” is all I seem to’ve been doing for weeks. Replace elastic here, let out seams there – lol!

      Reply

You are most welcome to leave a few words here...

